State by State Restrictions on Vaping Products

Wondering why we can't ship to you? Visit our USPS Ban page here.

As a result of the PACT Act, USPS can no longer ship vaping products. Please read our Vape Mail Ban page for more information.

Electric Tobacconist complies with all federal and state-specific laws and regulations. Please see below for a list of state-based restrictions related to vaping products.

We are currently unable to ship to the following states:

  • Alaska
  • Arkansas
  • Colorado
  • Georgia
  • Hawaii
  • Maine
  • New Hampshire
  • North Carolina
  • Ohio
  • Oregon
  • South Dakota
  • Utah
  • Vermont

We are also unable to ship to U.S. territories:

  • Guam
  • North Marianas
  • American Samoa
  • Puerto Rico
  • U.S. Virgin Islands

We cannot ship to APO/FPO/AE military addresses.

The following states/cities prohibit the use of any discounts/coupons, price reduction promotions, or price rebates for vapor products:

  • Massachusetts
  • New Jersey
  • New York

Additional Restrictions and Flavor Bans

Alabama has banned the sale of all tobacco-free (i.e., synthetic) nicotine products.

Illinois has restricted the sale of products from brands that have received a PMTA Marketing Denial Order (MDO) from the FDA. See the FDA's Tobacco Products Marketing Orders page for more information. We also no longer ship to Chicago, IL.

Massachusetts has enacted a temporary ban on the online sale of flavored nicotine products, including menthol, and any product with a nicotine strength over 35mg.

Maryland has temporarily banned the sale of flavored disposables.

New Jersey has also banned the sale of flavored nicotine products, including menthol and any nicotine-free items (excluding tobacco).

New York prohibits the online sale of any vaping products that contain liquid.

Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, has enacted a ban on flavored nicotine products, including menthol. This ban does not include nicotine-free liquid. The city also prohibits the online sale of e-liquid that contains nicotine salt.

San Francisco, California, has enacted a temporary ban on the sale of all vaping products.

The following states/cities have enacted a temporary ban on the sale of flavored vaping products:

  • Aspen, Colorado*
  • Boulder, Colorado*
  • Carbondale, Colorado
  • Los Angeles, California*
  • San Diego, California* (excludes tobacco-free nicotine and nicotine-free products)
  • Rhode Island*

*Includes menthol

Additionally, if shipping to Boulder, Colorado, then you cannot purchase more than 2 electronic cigarettes in a 24-hour period or more than 4 vaping products in a 24-hour period.

Please note that due to Proposition EE, we have temporarily suspended sales to all cities in Colorado.

If you are in the state of California, you will receive a phone call from us after 5 PM to confirm your order.

If you have any questions, please reach out to our Help Desk for more information.

Flavored products are defined as any product that is not "tobacco" flavored. If the product you are trying to purchase is restricted in your state/locality, you will receive a message during the checkout process, and you will be unable to submit your order until removing the restricted product from your basket.